Worth Quoting

3rd June 2013

“Imagine the people who believe such things and who are not ashamed to ignore, totally, all the patient findings of thinking minds through all the centuries since the Bible was written. And it is these ignorant people, the most uneducated, the most unimaginative, the most unthinking among us, who would make themselves the guides and leaders of us all; who would force their feeble and childish beliefs on us; who would invade our schools and libraries and homes. I personally resent it bitterly.”

Issac Asimov and bloody well said!

The religi board at the front of my old house. It was great fun. Sometimes my posts were rubbed out! Haha. The religites didn’t really approve.

16 comments on “Worth Quoting

  1. Oh yes. Doing the former but planning to totally avoid the latter!

  2. Veronique says:

    You know when I lived in Mullumbimby, NSW I had quite a large blackboard on my property that fronted onto a busy through road. I had a great time finding quotes of various sorts and used to chalk one up per week.

    Sometimes, they would be wiped off (hahaha) and I would diligently chalk them up again. I will see if I can find a photo of the board. Cars would often pull off the road in front of the house to read the ‘religi board’ as my husband named it, long before I actually met him. Hilarious and entertaining.

    So here I am in Scotland, not on a main road and it all seems a little precious. But I wanted to repeat the quotes in this blog and, of course, add to them after I have finished the ones I have. I am so anal that I kept each post-it note with my quote written on it. I even recorded the number of times I had to reinstate those that were wiped off!! There must be something wrong with me, but I thought I would change this ‘sticky note’ on the blog each week. What do you two think? In terms of frequency that is.

  3. Michelle B says:

    It is a good idea.

  4. johnny wee laddy says:

    So where’s the quote?

    • Veronique says:

      Didn’t you ever read read Marion Maddox’s book about Howard and the religious creep that started to permeate Australian politics during Howard’s tenure (both times).

      Try to find it and read it – it is a bit of an eye opener.

  5. Cuimbae says:

    Religious faith is a desperate marriage of hope and ignorance.

    a rather well phrased but cynical and narrow minded speculation not a fact nor a constructive piece of wisdom

    • Veronique says:

      Sam Harris is one of the least cynical people I have read or listened to. He just has no patience with the outmoded and dangerous tenets of religious faith and neither do I.

      I have posted this as a quotable quote that doesn’t attempt to be a constructive piece of wisdom. It is more an observation and that caught my fancy and with which I agree. I would probably phrase my own observations differently.

      Religious faith feeds inchoate fears and stultifies the intellect.

      Or something like that, but you get my drift.

  6. icyhighs says:

    I’m tempted to agree but I look around and its apparent that the truth is really not all that much better either. How does it really help you to be ‘wiser’ if it doesn’t add tangibly to your quality of life? Much easier to just blindly believe that there is a light that never goes out, somewhere.

    • Veronique says:

      Well, of course, you are right if a presumed easier life is what you want. For my money, I would rather face a reality where I don’t try to bury my head in very shifting sands, blinding and choking as I perceive them to be. I am not an ostrich:-) Besides, truth is never guaranteed to be better than blind faith. It is more honest though.

      Your stated stance reminds me of a light interchange:

      Intoned: The lord is my shepherd
      Interruption: I don’t need no shepherd – I ain’t no sheep

      Besides, trying to be wiser is not the aim of knowledge. Knowledge is what arises from a realised and followed curiosity and is served by observance and investigation with understanding as an end product.

      Intellectual curiosity is not to be cut off at the knees by superstitious fear thus diverting the intellect to those deadening shifting sands and stopping our curiosity from finding solace in knowledge.

      So you appear to disagree with Harris and me and others:-)

      It was Carl Sagan who said: ‘It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring.’

      And it was Richard Dawkins who said: ‘Science frees us from superstition and dogma and enables us to base our knowledge on evidence.’

    • P.j. Denyer says:

      If there is ‘a light that never goes out’ it will be powered by science not prayer.It is knowledge, not dogma that has driven the quality of life that we enjoy today.

  7. Aberingi says:

    Yes, Anarchists and Atheists know about life styles.

  8. Aberingi says:

    Reblogged this on Intranetalizando Terrassa and commented:
    As soon as we abandon our own reason, and are content to rely on authority, there is no end to our troubles.

  9. Veronique says:

    I have realised that I haven’t changed this quote – partly because it is difficult to better it. So it’s best to stay in currency until someone comes up with something better and more comprehensive. I suspect we will have a problem finding one. :)

Leave a Reply

